The Scar Gatherer is a series of seven time-travel adventures for 8 to 12 year olds, spanning seven periods in British history, from Roman times up to the Second World War.

Can the latest Victorian invention give Joe what he really wants?

When Joe Hopkins boards a ferry to go on holiday, he doesn't expect to find himself shipwrecked. But by the time he washes up on a Cornish beach, he knows he has slipped into the past again.


Victorian England is quite different to how he imagined: few of the great inventions of the age have reached the fishing village where Lucy lives. But when Joe has the chance to try out the latest technology – photography – he jumps at it.


Can it give him the thing he has desired for so long, a picture of his dearest friend that he can keep? And will the camera prove once and for all that he was there beside her?

“The best book in the series so far ... a real page turner!"

Reuben Wood, aged 11

ISBN: 978-0-9928443-8-7

To buy a signed copy of The Shimmer on the Glass, click the Buy Now button. (Price: £6.99 plus P&P £1.99.) For a personal dedication to the child receiving the book, please click the button below to send me their name.

To buy The Shimmer on the Glass with other books in the series, or for multiple copies, please choose from the drop-down list below.

To buy the whole series at a 10% discount (£44.00 instead of £48.93), please click the button below.

​​Postage costs for mainland UK (Royal Mail 1st class):

£1.99 for one book

£3.99 for up to three

£5.99 for between four and seven books

For more than seven books, non-mainland UK postage rates, overseas, signed for or tracked delivery, or to use Hermes rather than Royal Mail, please contact me. A different carrier will automatically be used for larger orders to keep postage costs down for you.

If you're into electronic books, you can buy it on Kindle by clicking the button.

If you'd prefer the familiarity of buying from Amazon, you can do so  by clicking here:

To get news about the series, and what I'm writing next, please sign up to the mailing list:

The sixth  book in the series, The Shimmer on the Glass, is set in Victorian Cornwall.

"Scars have the strange power to remind us that our past is real."

Cormac McCarthy

Last updated 22 February 2021  © Julia Edwards

  • Facebook Classic