The Scar Gatherer is a series of seven time-travel adventures for 8 to 12 year olds, spanning seven periods in British history, from Roman times up to the Second World War.

November 1940: could German bombers put a stop to Joe's time travelling for good?

Bombs have been raining down on Liverpool when Joe Hopkins falls out of the football match he's watching. He finds himself in World War Two, in a city under siege from the skies: the planes of the Luftwaffe are on a mission to bring terror and destruction to one of England's most strategically significant ports.


Lucy and her family are bearing up through the air raids, but it's not long before she and Joe discover that not everyone around them is on the same side of this war.


As one familiar face after another reappears from Lucy's many pasts, Joe begins to fear, too, that this is the curtain call. Will an air raid put a stop to his time travels? Worse still, will the lethal force of the Luftwaffe be the end of Lucy herself?



The seventh and final  book in the series, The Ring from the Ruins, is out now.

“Julia Edwards is an outstanding children's author! Her books have really inspired the pupils at my school and they are enthralled by the historical stories."
Amanda Brockway, Headteacher, Broad Chalke Primary School

ISBN: 978-0-9928443-9-4

To get  your hands on one of the very first signed copies of The Ring from the Ruins, click on the Buy Now button. (Price: £6.99 plus P&P £1.99.) For a personal dedication to the child receiving the book, please click the button below to send me their name.

To buy The Ring from the Ruins with other books in the series, or for multiple copies, please choose from the drop-down list below.

To buy the whole series at a 10% discount (£44.00 instead of £48.93), please click the button below.

​​Postage costs for mainland UK (Royal Mail 1st class):

£1.99 for one book

£3.99 for up to three

£5.99 for between four and seven books

For more than seven books, non-mainland UK postage rates, overseas, signed for or tracked delivery, or to use Hermes rather than Royal Mail, please contact me. A different carrier will automatically be used for larger orders to keep postage costs down for you.

If you're into electronic books, you can buy it on Kindle by clicking here:

If you'd prefer the familiarity of Amazon, you can buy from them  by clicking here:

To get news about the series, and what I'm writing next, please sign up to the mailing list:

"Scars have the strange power to remind us that our past is real."

Cormac McCarthy

Last updated 22 February 2021  © Julia Edwards

  • Facebook Classic